top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSophia Evans

Big Fish, Little Pond

All projects start with an idea, usually big and exciting and full of potential. The possibilities are endless; the brainstorming grows into a giant, lightning-filled session where the world is at your fingertips. Ah, but eventually reality has to step in, reminding us that there is only so much time in a day, and priorities must be set.


Originally for my Monster Express project, I really wanted to create all the art, music, story, programming, etc. during the semester of production. However, I know I have to be reasonable, and with the many other projects to do, combined with pure human nature to not want to be working 24/7 lest an ever looming burnout arrive, sacrifices will have to be made in order to ensure the game is completed at a quality standard.


I have made several of the art assets for the game already, however it is clear that if I do wish to do the art myself, I will likely have to cut down on the game narrative due to time constraints, and this is the most important aspect of the game for me. Thus, I have been looking through the various art assets available in public domain, as well as several asset packs I have purchased for commercial and general use in the past.


My current plan: - Set out the layout of the game - Plan characters and their basic story layouts - Work out exact game mechanics with items - Skeleton programming to see how the game will be laid out - Prepare art assets and add them to project in preparation By the end of this current week, I hope to have a basic level walk through, character list, project set up, and assets prepared - which, while sounding like a big job, shouldn't take too long thanks to my prior preparation and planning. The biggest thing to remember is to keep the fish fitting inside the pond!

1 view0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page